Mastodon: new album "Once More 'Round the Sun"

American band Mastodon released the sixth studio album "Once More 'Round the Sun".

The recording took place at the end of last year in Rock Falcon Studios, Franklin County, New York. The album was produced by Nick Raskulinecz (Stone Sour, Foo Fighters, Trivium), the artwork for "Once More 'Round the Sun" was made by American psy-artist Skinner. The album is available on CD and vinyl.

The Mastodon guitarist Bill Kelliher commented in interview for Ultimate Guitar:

"We're always trying to surprise ourselves and write something that's new and fresh. It's definitely got the elements of 'The Hunter' in there, but also [of] 'Remission' and some heavier stuff. There's a lot of different influences, from Alice in Chains to Deftones."

Except Mastodon "Once More 'Round the Sun" also was made featuring Nick Raskulinecz (production), Ted Jensen (mastering), Scott Kelly (vocals on "Diamond in the Witch House"), The Coathangers & Gary Lindsey (additional backing vocals on "Aunt Lisa"), Valient Himself (additional backing vocals on "Asleep in the Deep"), Isaiah "Ikey" Owens (synthesizer on "Asleep in the Deep"). "Once More 'Round The Sun" contains samples from "Cowboy Song" written by B. Downey & P/ Lynott.

Date: June 24, 2014

Genre: Progressive Metal, Sludge Metal

Country: United States

Label: Reprise


  1. Tread Lightly
  2. The Motherload
  3. High Road
  4. Once More 'Round The Sun
  5. Chimes At Midnight
  6. Asleep In The Deep
  7. Feast Your Eyes
  8. Aunt Lisa
  9. Ember City
  10. Halloween
  11. Diamond In The Witch House


  • Troy Sanders – bass guitar, vocals
  • Brent Hinds – lead guitar, vocals
  • Brann Dailor – drums, vocals
  • Bill Kelliher – guitars


NOTE: Meaningless or biased comments may be removed by moderator, author of such comments may be banned.